Accreditation Commission for Study Programmes

The Accreditation Commission is responsible for all procedures and quality seals in the accreditation of study programmes and in institutional accreditation or system accreditation. The members of the commission are specialized in ASIIN technical areas and in quality management of universities.

The ASIIN accreditation commission for study programs has the following tasks:

  • Establishing the procedural principles and standards for the accreditation of study programmes in engineering, computer science, natural sciences, mathematics and related disciplines.
  • Taking the necessary measures for the international recognition of accredited degrees.
  • Appointing audit teams for the study programs to be accredited. When appointing the audit teams, the proposals of the expert committees are taken into account in an appropriate manner.
  • Decision on the accreditation of the study programs based on the expert opinions of the audit teams and the comments of the technical committees.
  • Maintaining and publishing a list of accredited study programmes.
  • Appointment of technical committees
  • Responsibility for the guidance and training of peer reviewers.
  • Report on commission activities to the board of the association.

Members of the Accreditation Commission


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kathrin Lehmann
Brandenburgische Technische Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg

Representatives of Engineering Sciences


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Madhukar Chandra*, Technische Universität Chemnitz (Electrical Engineering)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Engell, Technische Universität Dortmund (Mechanical Engineering)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günther Meschke, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Civil Engineering)

Universities of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Huep, Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart (Geodesy)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kathrin Lehmann*, Brandenburgische Technische Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg (Electrical Engineering)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johannes Weinig, Hochschule Trier (Civil Engineering)

Representatives of Professional Practice

Dipl.-Ing. Axel Haas, Verband Deutscher Wirtschaftsingenieure e.V. (Industrial Engineering)
Dipl.-Ing. Detlef Stawarz, IG Metall (Mechanical Engineering)

Representatives of Computer Sciences


Prof. Dr. math. Heinz-Peter Gumm, Philipps-Universität Marburg

Universities of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rainer Oechsle, Hochschule Trier

Representatives of Natural Sciences


Prof. Dr. Robert Hänsch, Universität Braunschweig (Biology)
Prof. Dr. rer. Nat. Gert-Ludwig Ingold, Universität Augsburg (Physics)
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Heinrich Lang, Technische Universität Chemnitz (Chemistry)

Universities of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Stephan Huehn-Lindenbein, Beuth Hochschule für Technik (Biosciences, Food Hygiene)

Representatives of Professional Practice

Dipl.-Geol. Markus Rosenberg, selbstständiger Sachverständiger (Geology)

Representatives of Mathematics


Prof. Dr. Jürgen Prestin, Universität zu Lübeck

Universities of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Christine Süß-Gebhard*, Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg

Student representatives

Raphael Tietmeyer, Technische Universität Berlin

* These members form the Executive Board of the Accreditation Commission and chair the Committee