Accreditation Commission Reviews 39 Applications for Programme and Institutional Accreditation

The ASIIN Accreditation Commission met in Düsseldorf on 21/22 March 2024 for its quarterly meeting.

Led by the Chair, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Katrin Lehmann (Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg) and the Deputy Chair, Prof. Dr. Robert Hänsch (Technische Universität Braunschweig), the Accreditation Commission dealt with 38 applications for programme accreditation and one application for system accreditation.

A total of 106 study programmes were considered in the programme accreditation, clustered in the 38 programme procedures. A recommendation was made for the study programmes that applied for the seal of the German Accreditation Council; accreditation decisions were made for the award of the ASIIN seal. In summary, accreditation was granted for 102 study programmes and accreditation was suspended for a period of 18 months for 4 study programmes.

The Accreditation Commission also appointed 16 people to the ASIIN Technical Committees and held its annual discussion with the chairs of the 14 ASIIN Technical Committees. Here, interdisciplinary topics (changes to ASIIN's internal procedures and reporting, dealing with critical accreditation procedures, types of feedback on evaluation results) were discussed as well as subject-specific topics, such as the admission requirements for Data Science Master's programmes.

The Accreditation Commission of ASIIN e. V. is the decision-making body for all issues relating to accreditation. The Commission is comprised of representatives from universities, universities of applied sciences, professional practice and the student body.

ASIIN’s 14 technical committees are responsible for the preparation and supervision of accreditation procedures. They oversee all procedures in their areas of expertise and ensure equal treatment from a technical point of view.

Go back