PEESA III: Personalised Engineering Education in South Africa

Personalised Engineering Education in Southern Africa (PEESA III) is a three-year intercontinental Project funded on the Erasmus+ Capacity Building in Higher Education programme (2017-20), and widens the cooperation and results of PEESA I and PEESA II.

Goals of the project

  • To continue to promote university capacity building in the field of engineering education within higher education in South Africa.
  • To jointly develop three Master Degree in engineering study programmes based on flexible learning paths (blended, distance, on-line) and university-enterprise cooperation
  • Mutual recognition of the jointly developed three Master Degree study programmes
  • Preparation of Self-assessment reports for EUR-ACE Accreditation of three MA programmes on Energy Efficiency developed and implemented at two South African partners (CPUT and VUT) within the Edulink’s PEESA project (2013-2017)
  • To promote gender equality in engineering education in South Africa
  • To renew or establish new cooperation agreements between partner institutions

ASIIN’s Role in the Project

As part of the PEESA III project, ASIIN contributes "Quality Assurance processes and mechanisms": the goal is to introduce EUR-ACE standards in engineering education to the Universities and to best prepare them for an international accreditation. This includes supporting them with the preparation of a self-assessment.

In addition, ASIIN is responsible for QM within the project, which includes developing and implementing a quality plan, and continuously gathering and analysing feedback from project partners.

Project Partners

Aside from ASIIN, the project consortium consists of 8 universities, located in Europe and South Africa:

Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Cape Town, South Africa


Durban University of Technology
Durban, South Africa


Hochschule Flensburg
Flensburg, Germany


Hochschule Wismar
Wismar, Germany


Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu
Sibiu, Romania


Tshwane University of Technology
Pretoria, South Africa


Uniwersytet Szczeciński
Szczecin, Poland

Vaal University of Technology
Vanderbijpark, South Africa